Tag Archives: awards

Women of Influence Awards

At UC we have many women who are making a difference and changing the world.

The Women of Influence programme recognises and celebrates women from all walks of life who make a positive difference in the lives of their fellow New Zealanders.

Nominations close on 7 June, 2018.

Find out more>

UC receives Carbon Management Recognition Award!

Exciting news! The University of Canterbury has received an Enviro-Mark Solutions Recognition Award for Outstanding Performance in Carbon Management in a Large Organisation. UC was one of two large organisations to do so. Tony Sellin, UC’s Energy Manager, was presented with the award in Auckland on Tuesday 6 June 2017.

The awards celebrate the best of the best when it comes to carbon emissions reduction and environmental management. Enviro-Mark reported that the award winners have achieved a net reduction of 10,385 tonnes of carbon over the past year – that’s the equivalent of driving from Cape Reinga to Bluff more than 20,000 times or flying from Auckland to London more than 1,300 times!

UC embarked on a greenhouse gas (GHG) inventory programme called CEMARS (Certified Emissions Measurement and Reduction Scheme) in 2011 because it wanted to create the most energy efficient environment for teaching and research. Since then, UC has reduced GHG by 28% (in absolute terms) and has more than lived up to the initial commitment to reduce emissions by 10-20% by 2020. UC is also the first university in the Southern hemisphere to attain the CEMARS accreditation.

Tony Sellin says part of this reduction comes from a more energy efficient design for the new and retro-fitted buildings on campus. Where possible, buildings have received a better thermal envelop (such as insulation and double glazing) and old building services plant and equipment have been replaced for more efficient ones. This includes more efficient lighting (e.g. LED lights and lights that turn off automatically), radiators and air handling units. There has also been a greater use of electricity over coal for space heating. UC’s carbon reduction is also connected with a smaller campus building footprint as a result of the earthquakes. All of this has resulted in a lower energy demand.

Further information: See also Leading the Carbon Crusade

This message was brought to you by Puck Algera (puck.algera@canterbury.ac.nz) in the UC Sustainability Office. Connect with us through Facebook or Instagram or email us: sustainability@canterbury.ac.nz

“I want them to question everything” – Arts Lecturer of the Year

Mike Grimshaw  – College of Arts Lecturer of the Year (UCSA Staff of the Year Awards)







When Mike Grimshaw came to UC in 2000 as a Lecturer in Religious Studies, it’s doubtful he saw himself 15 years in the future winning the Arts Lecturer of the Year Award as a teacher of sociology of the city, sociology of religion and the politics of need.

Students grant these Awards to teachers who have made a real impact on them, and one of Mike’s major impacts must be inspiring genuine critical thought in them.

“I want them to question, and to think, and to apply what we discuss in all areas of their lives,” he says.

“I don’t want regurgitation, I want interpretation. I want them to think for themselves, question everything – including me, and not only develop a strong critical argument, but be prepared to stake a position.“

Not a great believer in exams, Mike prefers to set written assignments and allows his students to pick their own topics in discussion with him.

“When students are researching and writing about something they’re interested in, they do much better work, and I try to excite them with my own interest in their topics and its possibilities.”

He finds the same thing in his class discussions. Although there may be a topic and a set of lecture notes, ultimately, where the lecture goes, is up to the interaction between Mike and the class.

For Mike, stand out teaching moments are the students who never thought they would necessarily be interested in a topic, but who suddenly have their interest awakened.