Tag Archives: staff of the year

UCSA Staff of the Year Awards – vote now

The Staff of the Year Awards give students a voice in nominating/voting for the most inspiring lecturers, supervisors, technical staff, library staff, advisors or cleaning staff who have made your life at UC so much better!

You can also make up an award for a staff member of your choice – the cheekiest ones will feature at the award ceremony!

Start nominating/voting now! Voting closes Friday 7 September.

**When you nominate/vote, you also go in the draw to win one of four $50 UCSA Cafe and Bar vouchers!**

Nominate/vote for the Staff of the Year Awards here>

Nominations open for Staff of the Year Award

Staff of the Year Award 2018 nominating/voting has opened!

Since 1995, the UCSA Lecturer of the Year Awards give students a voice in nominating and deciding the most inspiring and dedicated lecturers at UC.  In recent years, we have introduced nominations for Supervisor of the Year, Administrator of the Year and Great Character of the Year. 

In 2016, we renamed the event to Staff of the Year, and added a few more awards because we wanted to honour the help and support UC’s non-academic staff members give to students as well.

For your enjoyment, there’s still a “Make-up Your Own” Lecturer Award, where you name the award and nominate the lecturer.  It’s fun.  Plus, the cheekiest ones will be featured at the award ceremony.

Start nominating your lecturers, supervisors, technical staff, library staff, advisors or cleaning staff who have made your life at UC so much better!

To sweeten the deal, when you nominate someone, you go in the draw to win one of four $50 UCSA Café and Bar vouchers!

Nominate someone now>

Information and conditions:

  • Please note nominating is voting, no reason for a second survey, make your nomination/vote worth it.
  • You do not need to nominate/vote in every category, but we encourage you to do so.
  • Please fill in as much information as you can for the people you are nominating/voting for.
  • You will have to make a valid nomination in at least one category to be in the draw for the café voucher.
  • Voting closes Friday 7 September – late entries will not be allowed.

UCSA ‘Staff of the Year’ finalists announced

The Staff of the Year Award 2017 nomination/voting ended last Friday at 5pm. Thank you to everyone who nominated/voted.  UCSA had a record number of participants in this year’s voting – a total of 1,197.

The top nominees of each category are (in alphabetical order):

Lecturer of the Year – Arts:

  • Associate Professor Peter Field
  • Dr Masayoshi Ogino
  • Karen Saunders
  • Professor Alex Tan
  • Dr Kevin Watson

Lecturer of the Year – Business & Law:

  • Dr Steve Agnew
  • Dr Herb de Vries
  • Dr John Hopkins

Lecturer of the Year – Education:

  • Tracy Clelland
  • Heather Lindsay
  • Associate Professor Brigid McNeill

Lecturer of the Year – Engineering:

  • Dr Sid Becker
  • Professor Charles Fleischmann
  • Associate Professor Michael Hayes

Lecturer of the Year – Science:

  • Dr Richard Lobb
  • Dr Pieter Pelser
  • Professor Ian Shaw

Supervisor of the Year:

  • Professor Angus Macfarlane (Education)
  • Dr Tammy Steeves (Biological Sciences)
  • Dr Kevin Watson (Linguistics)

Administrator of the Year:

  • Sarah Brown (Fine Arts)
  • Heather Couch (Business & Law)
  • Maria Hellstrom (Linguistics, English Language, Media & Communications)

Technical Staff of the Year:

  • Garry Cotton (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Chris Grimshaw (Geological Sciences)
  • Julian Murphy (Mechanical Engineering)

Superstar of the Year:

  • Liz Ackerley (Mathematics & Statistics)
  • Roisin Bennett (Māori Development Team)
  • Heather Couch (Business & Law)
  • Simon Dorset (Law)
  • Jane Hall (Student Experience)
  • Dr Valerie Sotardi (Education)

Great Character of the Year Award:

  • Dr Steve Agnew (Business & Law)
  • Dr Herb de Vries (Business & Law)
  • Jean Kim (Education)
  • Karen Saunders (Arts)

Make Your Own Award (Titles of awards will be revealed on the night):

  • Dr Steve Agnew (Business & Law)
  • Te Hurinui Clarke (Education)
  • Associate Professor Travis Horton (Geological Sciences)
  • Associate Professor Brigid McNeill (Education)