Guest Talk: Diane Foreman – my journey to the top

Tuesday 15 September, 2.30-4.30pm, Central Lecture Theatre C3, University of Canterbury.

UC’s Centre for Entrepreneurship warmly invites you to hear Diane Foreman, CNZM and EY’s Entrepreneurship Ambassador, talk about how she became one of New Zealand’s most successful entrepreneurs.

Diane, who was named the New Zealand EY Entrepreneur of the Year in 2009, will take us on her journey from being a single mother to being named by Forbes magazine as one of the most powerful women in Asia.

Afternoon tea will follow.

Diane’s new book “Diane Foreman: In the Arena” will also be available for purchase and signing.

Diane Foreman

Health & Safety Representatives 2015

Successfully Nominated Health & Safety Representatives

After the recent call for nominations for Health & Safety Representatives within the Colleges, the Health & Safety Team is pleased to announce the successful nominees.

New and re-nominated (returning) Health & Safety Representatives are as follows:

Kim RobertsBiological Sciences
Deberah WekkingVice Chancellor’s Office
Shekinah JonesHuman Resources
Jenny WhiteHuman Resources
Lachlan KirkForestry
Karen Lynda WalkerCentre for Evaluation & Monitoring
Archna TandonChemistry
Vicki ChristoffersenGateway Antarctica
Gavin BlackwellSports & Physical Education
Anne O’ConnellCommunications Disorders
Christopher GomezGeography
David WinterTeacher Education

For a list of the Health & Safety Representatives within the Colleges whose terms did not end in 2015 are still continuing in their role please visit the Health & Safety Intranet.
For further information please contact the Health & Safety Administrator on extn 8787.

UC Community Engagement Hub Website & Monthly Update for August

To advance the “engaged in the community” attribute of the UC Graduate Profile, the UC Community Engagement Hub was created this year. Please check out our new website at:

The Resources and Support link on the homepage ( will take you to the monthly update for August, upcoming events, and resources for engagement, teaching, and research.

Please consider coming along to an all staff session about this attribute on Friday, 9 October, Noon-1 PM, KH07, which will be facilitated by the Director of the Community Engagement Hub, Associate Professor Billy Osteen.


Mini Road Cone Fundraiser to Commemorate 4 September

roadconeUC alum Anne Wignall and UC Geography student Felicity Powell have teamed up to create mini road cones with flowers to commemorate the 5th anniversary of the 2010 earthquake.

The $2 for each mini road cone will go to a charity (Student Volunteer Army, Mental Health Foundation, Bounce/Red Cross, St Barnabas Church, or Pop-Up Gardens) of your choosing.

If you’re interested in purchasing a road cone, please contact Felicity or check out the facebook event.

Vice-Chancellor & Health, Safety and Wellbeing Award Winners 2015

Congratulations to all our winners!

Vice-Chancellor General Staff Development Awards 2015

The Awards were held to recognise and assist exceptional professional development initiatives, such as: Further study; Visits to other higher educational institutions; Staff exchanges; Specialised training; and conferences

Dr Rod Carr, Vice-Chancellor, presented awards to the following recipients at the awards on 21st August 2015

  • Anna Sturman
  • Donna Barber
  • Gavin Blackwell
  • Sara Roberts
VC General Staff Awards and Health Safety and Wellbeing Awards, 21.8.15 Client HR.
VC General Staff Awards

Health, Safety & Wellbeing Awards 2015

The Awards are designed to reward and encourage staff members to initiate innovative Health & Safety practices within their Department/Unit/College.

Dr Rod Carr, Vice-Chancellor, presented awards to the following recipients at the awards on 21st August 2015

  • Silvana de Freitas Costa
  • Jenny Owens
  • Olive Dalton
  • Adam Pethig & Katrina Stanton (absent)
  • Dennis Parker & Rebecca McIlroy
VC General Staff Awards and Health Safety and Wellbeing Awards, 21.8.15 Client HR.
Health Safety and Wellbeing Awards

Please see the Human Resources Intranet for a full description of the award winners.