UCSA ‘Staff of the Year’ Finalists Announced

The Staff of the Year Award 2017 nomination/voting ended last Friday at 5pm.  UCSA had a record number of students participating in this year’s voting – a total of 1,197.

The top nominees of each category are (in alphabetical order):

Lecturer of the Year – Arts:

  • Associate Professor Peter Field
  • Dr Masayoshi Ogino
  • Karen Saunders
  • Professor Alex Tan
  • Dr Kevin Watson

Lecturer of the Year – Business & Law:

  • Dr Steve Agnew
  • Dr Herb de Vries
  • Dr John Hopkins

Lecturer of the Year – Education:

  • Tracy Clelland
  • Heather Lindsay
  • Associate Professor Brigid McNeill

Lecturer of the Year – Engineering:

  • Dr Sid Becker
  • Professor Charles Fleischmann
  • Associate Professor Michael Hayes

Lecturer of the Year – Science:

  • Dr Richard Lobb
  • Dr Pieter Pelser
  • Professor Ian Shaw

Supervisor of the Year:

  • Professor Angus Macfarlane (Education)
  • Dr Tammy Steeves (Biological Sciences)
  • Dr Kevin Watson (Linguistics)

Administrator of the Year:

  • Sarah Brown (Fine Arts)
  • Heather Couch (Business & Law)
  • Maria Hellstrom (Linguistics, English Language, Media & Communications)

Technical Staff of the Year:

  • Garry Cotton (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Chris Grimshaw (Geological Sciences)
  • Julian Murphy (Mechanical Engineering)

Superstar of the Year:

  • Liz Ackerley (Mathematics & Statistics)
  • Roisin Bennett (Māori Development Team)
  • Heather Couch (Business & Law)
  • Simon Dorset (Law)
  • Jane Hall (Student Experience)
  • Dr Valerie Sotardi (Education)

Great Character of the Year Award:

  • Dr Steve Agnew (Business & Law)
  • Dr Herb de Vries (Business & Law)
  • Jean Kim (Education)
  • Karen Saunders (Arts)

Make Your Own Award (Titles of awards will be revealed on the night):

  • Dr Steve Agnew (Business & Law)
  • Te Hurinui Clarke (Education)
  • Associate Professor Travis Horton (Geological Sciences)
  • Associate Professor Brigid McNeill (Education)

Now that the students have nominated (and voted), UCSA invites staff to join them at the Staff of the Year Awards 2017 event to celebrate those who have been nominated.

Friday 15 September at 6:30pm

Location: The UCSA Event Centre (Foundry)

Dress code: Smart Casual.

There are limited tickets available for UC staff members not on the nomination list, offered on a first come first serve basis.

Ticket includes a glass of champagne on arrival, nibbles and cash bar.

Nominees can reserve your free tickets for yourself and one guest by Monday 11 September, 09:30am, via https://soty17.eventbrite.co.nz.

UCSA has also released 50 General Admission tickets – these are on a first come first serve basis.  Please reserve these tickets via https://soty17.eventbrite.co.nz.