Have your say about the future of education

The Government wants to shift towards an education system with stronger student voice – where all students have their voices valued, listened and responded to and are empowered to be strong advocates for their own and others’ educational journeys.

To help them move towards this, they want to hear from as many tertiary students, staff, providers, organisations, and education agencies as possible.
They want to know what UC staff and students think about student voice, and some of the government’s initial thinking on how to enhance student voice.

They can do this by completing a short survey available here>
The survey closes  4 October 2019.

We will then publish a summary of what we heard on the Ministry of Education’s Kōrero Mātauranga website, so that everyone can see how we have captured and included their voices.

If you have any questions about this work, please contact the team at Tertiary.Strategy@education.govt.nz.
Thank you,
The Ministry of Education | Kia pai tō koutou rā

Apply now: Fulbright Scholars Applications for 2020

Awards for NZ professionals, academics and artists.

From the personal to the professional, Fulbright creates lasting, meaningful connections in a complex and changing world.

Scholar Awards aren’t just for academics – Fulbright is encouraging professionals, artists and other leaders to apply. There are a large variety of UC institutions who host Scholars – from universities or colleges, to museums, non-profits, think-tanks – any organisation with a research or lecturing component.

The awards are valued at up to US$37,500 towards three to five months of lecturing and/or research at US institutions.

Applications must be received by 1 October.

Read more here, or download a PDF of the Fulbright NZ Scholar Brochure here>

If you have any questions about the NZ Scholar Awards, contact Lauren Parsons at Fulbright New Zealand.

Read more about UC’s relationship with Fulbright here>

UC alumna Brianne West and Ethique win Exporter of the Year award

Kiwi brand Ethique has won  Exporter of the Year to the USA (medium business) at the recent 2019 AmCham-DHL Success & Innovation Awards.

Ethique, founded by UC Science alumna Brianne West, is an award-winning international beauty brand. They create environment-friendly shampoo and conditioner bars and have been saving millions of plastic bottles from heading to landfill.

The awards are run by the American Chamber of Commerce in New Zealand and celebrate success and innovation for companies doing business with the USA.

Ethique is also a finalist at the upcoming 2019 Westpac Champion Business Awards. 

Brianne West, founder of Ethique

What does a sustainability superhero look like?

Maybe they are doing research on micro-plastics in our waterways? Maybe they are holding climate challenge conferences, or built a fully recyclable electric car? Maybe they are doing academic research on waterways, biodiversity, or on sustainability in education? Maybe they always arrive to work irritatingly cheerful and refreshed after cycling to work each morning?  They might even be sitting right next to you…. (sipping coffee from a reusable cup of course)

Nominate your sustainability superhero for a Sustainability Award today! Nominations are open from now until Monday 9 September.

The UC Sustainability Awards are about the recognition and celebration of all things sustainability – both on and off campus. This is a great chance to acknowledge the hard work, innovation and imagination of many of our students and staff who are working hard to make our world a better (and greener) place.

Tell us all about them (or yourself!) by finding the nomination form and all the info you need here. Nominations are open until Monday 9 September with the awards being presented by UC Vice Chancellor | Tumu Whakarae Professor Cheryl de la Rey.

We can’t wait to hear all the wonderful things our community has been doing for sustainability!

This message was bought to you by the UC Sustainability Office. Stay connected and follow us on FacebookInstagram or sign up to our newsletter to stay in the loop about campus sustainability. This blog is part of our communications plan for the 2019 UC Sustainability Awards. For more information, and for the Awards nomination form, see our website.


And the winners are…

Please join us in congratulating the winners of the Vice-Chancellor’s General Staff Development Awards and Health, Safety and Wellbeing Awards for 2019.

Vice-Chancellor General Staff Development Awards

  • Tracy Anderson, Marketing
  • Te Paea Paringatai, Library
  • Julian Phillips, College of Engineering
  • Elyse Thompson, Academic Services Group

Award of Acknowledgement

  • Catherine Woods, College of Business & Law

UC Prosci Scholarship Recipients

  • Sarah Cooke, Governance, ICT
  • Matthew Turnbull, College of Science
  • Robyn Nuthall, UC Futures, Finance
  • Kat Henderson, UC Sport & Recreation

Health, Safety & Wellbeing Awards

  • Bruce Vincent, Engineering Services, Facilities Services
  • Laurie Anderson, College of Science
  • Justin Harrison, College of Science
  • Steve Gibling, UC Sport & Recreation
  • Lauralee Mather, Admissions, Student Services & Communications
  • The Facilities Services Team
  • The UC Grounds Team
  • The Student Experience Team
  • Sarah Brown, College of Arts
  • School of Fine Arts, College of Arts

For more on our winners and the fantastic work they have been recognised for, click here>

This slideshow requires JavaScript.