Category Archives: Staff Success

Bike Challenge Distance Champion Ella Stensness

In the recent newsletter we celebrated our bike champions and gave a prize pack to the cyclist with the most rides. However, we need to give a massive shout out to Ella Stensness, who rode the most kilometres BY FAR with 1402km in February, including we understand a casual jaunt from Gisborne to the West Coast! Ella placed 15th in the country for distance, which was such an amazing effort.

Ella a merch pack is on its way to you! Thanks for providing such an inspirational example – who wants to take Ella on in 2022?

UC staff again put in a sterling effort in the 2021 Aotearoa Bike Challenge, jumping on their bikes during February and placing UC first in the tertiary sector, third for Christchurch 2000+ staff and fifth for NZ 2000+ staff in the annual national bike challenge. See here for the full run down on UC’s cycling achievements.

Keen to ride your bike a bit more, but not sure where to start? Odlin Cycle Coaching is offering free bike skill sessions in Christchurch over March and April.

Check out the session times, along with more information here:

The course will be run in small groups, so you’ll get plenty of personalised advice in a supportive environment. The team are very experienced in catering the course to the meet the needs of the group.

We’re already looking forward to the Aotearoa Bike Challenge next year, and taking real action on the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals – especially Goals 13, 11 and 3!

UC Teaching Award, UC Teaching Medal

Do you know an excellent teacher or teaching team who deserve wider recognition?
Then take a moment to nominate them for a UC Teaching Award or the UC Teaching Medal.

Nominations for the 2021 Teaching Awards and UC Teaching Medal are open from now until 30 April, so kick start your year now.

Don’t forget that there is also an award available for implementing an outstanding  teaching transformation, and that all teaching awards also bring with them a financial reward. The process is simple: complete a one-step form.

All awards recognise excellence in teaching (including thesis supervision) in both undergraduate and graduate programmes. The teaching medal is UC’s highest award for teaching and leadership.
Further information and nomination forms are available on the Teaching Awards or the Teaching Medal websites.

Become a leader within the teaching community – UC teaching scholarships now open

UC’s Leadership in Teaching Development Programme offers prestigious scholarships that reward recipients with time and funds to pursue their teaching interests, within their localised teaching and learning communities.

In 2021, the Deputy Vice Chancellor’s office will again be awarding five scholarships across UC to support teaching development projects. The scholarship offers $10,000 to enable staff to undertake teaching related research and development, as well as an academic buyout for 0.2 FTE for two years. Proposed projects need to address UC strategic priorities, while building developmental capacity for collaborative problem-solving through authentic, practiced-based teaching development.

This is the second year of the Leadership in Teaching Development scholarship, with five projects already funded and underway. The projects that have secured funding so far are looking at a range of issues; from the development of robust methodology for flipped/blended teaching environments, to equity and inclusiveness in online teaching. The uses of adaptive technology to enhance introductory math outcomes, indigeneity in Engineering teaching, and developing pedagogies that better support practice-oriented teaching and assessment are further areas currently being researched.

The scholarship is prestigious. It rewards staff who are interested in developing teaching practices, and offers recipients the opportunity to become leaders within the teaching community.

Check out this website for more information on the scholarships, and how you might be able to apply.

Applications close on the 31st of March, 2021.