Tag Archives: awards

UC Staff of The Year Awards 2020

The UCSA is excited to announce the nominees for the 2020 UC Staff of The Year Awards! A total of 510 students participated, shining a light on the staff who inspired them.

The top nominees of each category are (in randomised order):

Lecturer of The Year – Arts:

A/P Donald Matheson

Nancy Chu

Dr Lindsey MacDonald

Sergio Redondo


Lecturer of The Year – Business & Law:

A/P Laura Meriluoto

A/P Herb DeVries

Dr Steve Agnew

Ruth Ballantyne


Lecturer of The Year – Education:

Tracy Clelland

Nicki Dabner

Dr Valerie Sotardi


Lecturer of The Year – Engineering:

Dr Tom Logan

Prof Alessandro Palermo

A/P Sid Becker


Lecturer of The Year – Science:

A/P Pieter Pelser

Prof Ian Shaw

A/P Ashley Garrill

Prof Adrian McDonald


Best Online

Nancy Chu

A/P Herb De Vries

Dr Craig McConnochie


Supervisor of The Year:

Prof Annie Potts

A/P Michael Grimshaw

Dr Craig McConnochie


Administrator of The Year:

Edmund Smith

Heather Couch

Phillipa Gourdie


Technical Staff of The Year:

Patrick Branje

Edsel Villa

Garry Cotton

Randall Grenfell


Superstar of The Year:

Gary Gin

Desmond Breeze

Storm Geldenhuis

Garry Cotton


Great Character of The Year Award:

Dr Steve Agnew

A/P Sid Becker

Prof Ian Shaw


Make Your Own Award (Titles of awards will be revealed on the night):

Hamish Oliver

Jan Jakob Bornheim

Rachael Tappenden

Richard Bullen

Tham Piumsomboon


UCSA Exec Awards

Jonie Chang

Nicole Anfang

Anne Scott

Riki Welsh


Now that students have nominated (and voted), please join us at the Staff of the Year Awards ceremony to celebrate.

Friday 28th September at 6:30pm

Location: Haere-roa

Dress code: Smart Casual.

There are limited tickets available for UC staff members not on the nomination list, offered on a first come first serve basis.

Ticket includes a glass of sparkling wine on arrival, nibbles and cash bar.

We have  released 30 General Admission tickets – these are on a first come first serve basis.  Please reserve these online here.

Nominees, please reserve your free tickets for yourself and one guest by Friday 20th September, via email at events@ucsa.org.nz.

Science on thin ice

As climate change accelerates, the warming earth means our world-famous glaciers, like Fox and Franz Josef, are receding and thinning. We need to study them while we still can.

UC Te Kura Aronukurangi | School of Earth and Environment glaciologist and award-winning teacher Dr Heather Purdie, talks about her research on endangered glaciers, passion for the environment, and why virtual teaching will never replace real-life experiences with nature: on Ep10 of our science podcast UC Science Radio.

Check out the episode here: bit.ly/ucscienceradio-ep10

We’re also on Spotify | Stitcher | Youtube | Apple Podcasts

Engagement Australia Excellence Awards 2020: apply here

The Engagement Australia Excellence Awards identify and celebrate the most exciting and impactful engagement activities undertaken by Australian and New Zealand universities. 

At UC we have a commitment to engagement within our community and encourage applications across the seven Award categories:

  • Award for Excellence in Community Engagement
    Recognising outstanding collaborations between communities, higher education and industry for societal benefit. 
  • Award for Excellence in Community Engagement: Closing the Gap
    Recognising outstanding collaborations between communities, higher education and industry that directly reduce disadvantage.
  • Award for Excellence in Industry Engagement
    Recognising outstanding contributions to enhancing the quality of learning and teaching in higher education by members of tertiary education institutions, community and industry partners.
  • Award for Outstanding Engagement for Research Impact
    Recognising excellence in research and development activity, that makes a substantial difference to the community, undertaken jointly by researchers in tertiary education institutes and partners in the community, business and industry.
  • Award for Excellence in Student Engagement
    Recognising outstanding contributions that improve student engagement on campus, with industry and/or in community.
  • Award for Excellence in Alumni Engagement
    Recognising outstanding contributions to enhancing the quality alumni engagement and support in higher education.
  • Award for Outstanding Leadership in Engagement
    Recognising an individual who has made notable contributions to engagement above and beyond that expected for their role, resulting in sustained and impactful partnerships.

Download the Applicant Guidelines>
Visit the Awards Portal to make a submission. Applications close 7pm NZST 31 July 2020.

Award recipients will be announced at the Engagement Australia Awards dinner held in conjunction with the Engagement Australia Annual Symposium in November 2020. More information>

QS 2020 Reimagine Education Awards

QS Quacquarelli Symonds – compilers of the QS World University Rankings – and The Wharton School have now opened the 2020 Reimagine Education Awards, which are offering $50,000 and global visibility to an outstanding approach to teaching or learning.

The Awards were contested by 1518 university faculty, cross-departmental teams, and edtech companies in 2019, and have received over 5000 submissions since their 2014 inauguration – making them currently the world’s largest educational awards program.

Previous winners include Harvard University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Imperial College London, and the London School of Economics.

There are also 14 Category Award Winners – with categories including Virtual Reality, Artificial Intelligence, Hybrid Learning, Presence Learning, and Best Educational App – and awards available for outstanding submissions by region and by discipline.

All applications can be made free of charge, and can be submitted by visiting www.Reimagine-Education.com/application. There is no restriction on the number of unique applications that can be made by an individual institution or department.