Category Archives: Celebration

UC medallists 2022 celebrated

Emeritus Professors Maan Alkaisi, Keith Alexander, Rob Hughes,Cheryl de la Rey, Amy Adams, Alison Downard, Dave Kelly, Phil BonesThe UC Council recognises outstanding academic staff through the prestigious UC Medals, which were presented at the Pō Whakamānawa | Celebrating Staff event last night (2 November).

Please check out the inspiring videos for our five medallists, sharing their backstories, expertise and passion for their subject area.

The UC Research Medal was awarded to:

Professor Elissa Cameron, School of Biological Sciences: international expert in mammal behaviour specialising in giraffes, meerkats, Tasmanian devils and Kaimanawa wild horses in Aotearoa. Read more: Giraffes help spark Canterbury biologist’s towering career | University of Canterbury

UC Research medal Professor Elissa Cameron


Professor Misko Cubrinovski, Department of Civil and Natural Resources Engineering: international expert in earthquake geotechnical engineering, specialising in liquefaction. Read more: Canterbury geotech engineer wins medal for quake research | University of Canterbury


UC Rezsearch medal Professor Misko Cubrinovski


The UC Teaching Medal was awarded to:

Associate Professor Heather Purdie, School of Earth and Environment: an outstanding teacher and glaciologist who consistently receives top student feedback. Read more: Glaciologist’s style captivates students | University of Canterbury

UC Teaching medal Associate Professor Heather Purdie

The UC Innovation medal was awarded to:
Professor Ann Brower, School of Earth and Environment: her research helped to protect 5% of the country’s landmass through a high-country land tenure law change. Read more: From solving the South Island High Country puzzle to medallist | University of Canterbury


UC Innocation medal Professor Ann Brower with Amy Adams

Te Kāhui-a-Te-Rū-Rangahau research team of Professor Angus Hikairo Macfarlane, Dr Matiu Tai Rātima, Dr Te Hurinui Karaka-Clarke and Jennifer Smith, School of Teacher Education, developed a series of research-based guides to provide accessible, practical and flexible strategies helping early childhood, primary, secondary and tertiary teachers to become more culturally responsive.

UC Innovation Medal – Jen smith and Professor Angus Hikairo Macfarlane from Te Kāhui-a-Te-Rū-Rangahau research team

A very warm congratulations to our new medallists who inspire us all to go above and beyond in our work and to live our values of whanaungatanga, manaakitanga and tiakitanga.


December 2022 Graduation Celebrations

Applications to attend the December 2022 Graduation Celebrations opened on 29 August and will remain open until Friday 7 October 2022.

If you’re intending to complete your qualification in Semester Two, or have completed your qualification and have yet to have your qualification conferred, and you wish to attend a graduation celebration in December 2022, please apply online via myUC and select the following option:

Celebration with conferral in absentia.

The dates/times for each Faculty celebration will be confirmed at the end of October 2022 and will be available on the Graduation web page.

Please note:  For those completing their qualifications in Semester Two 2022, all results for this semester must be received from their faculty by the Academic Records section no later than Friday 2 December 2022 to ensure they can check your eligibility to graduate.

  • Any student who has an outstanding Special Consideration application decision pending on Friday 2 December 2022, or who has submitted a late Special Consideration application, will have their application to attend a graduation celebration withdrawn and they will be notified via their graduation email address on record.
  • Any students who have results outstanding after Friday 2 December, will have their application to attend a graduation celebration withdrawn and they will be notified via their graduation email address on record.
  • Should you wish to change your graduation email address you will need to email or email / phone the Contact Centre to ensure this is updated.

Read more

UCSA Student Choice Awards 2022

Nominations for Student Choice Awards close on Thursday 8 September!

Help us celebrate any UC staff you think deserves to be recognised.
From the Wellbeing Champion, the most unique personality for the Great Character Award, the administrator king and queen, to your favourite lecturer. Nominate them all!

We appreciate your time so when you submit a 100-word+ nomination of a UC Staff member, you can be in to win a $200 Prezzy Card!

You can check out the criteria on our website to see what award the staff member should be nominated for. These awards are:
– Faculty Lecturer Awards (who will be considered for the overall Lecturer of the Year Award)
a) Faculty of Arts
b) Faculty of Business
c) Faculty of Law
d) Faculty of Education
e) Faculty of Health
f) Faculty of Engineering
g) Faculty of Science
– Postgraduate Supervisor of the Year Award
– Administrator of the Year Award
– Technical Staff Member of the Year Award
– Support Services Staff Member of the Year Award
– Superstar Award
– Great Character Award
– The Wellbeing Champion Award


For more information and to nominate please visit:


We would love your help in celebrating our amazing staff so nominate as many people you think deserve it!

Nominations close 6PM Thursday 8th September.